Cool Stuff I Wish I’d Bought in the 80’s – Topps Super Sports Lockers

26 Sep

1982 Topps Grocery Pack - Back

There’s no doubt that when it comes to sports card lockers, this one advertised on the back of 1982 Topps Grocery packs certainly is super.

Some highlights to consider when making this purchase:

“Throw away the old “shoe box” to organize your entire Topps Sports Card collection in an exciting new way… all year long!” – This is important to note as prior to the sports card locker, one could only organize sports cards from April through September.  True story, look it up.

“You also get team stickers for all major league Baseball, Basketball, NFL Football, and NHL Hockey teams.” – This blog is called Sorting by Teams, so this is cool.  There is no doubt that I would have loved this feature as a kid.  Hell, I’d love it now.

“Convenient carrying handle and snap-close lock makes it easy to take your whole collection to those “big trade” get-togethers.” – 1982 was obviously a lot more fun than 2010.

This would have cost $5.75 plus $0.75 shipping in 1982.  According to the inflation calculator from the United States Department of Labor, this would be $13.01 plus $1.70 shipping in 2010.  I think all of us who use eBay and other online ordering services can agree from this that shipping costs have gone up substantially higher than the inflation rate in the last 28 years.

If there is a way to buy one of these lockers (with team stickers, of course) for $13.01, I will pay current shipping rates.  If anyone out there has one, send a photo my way… I’d love to be able to post it here.  I don’t think Sorting by Teams will ever be complete without one.

One Response to “Cool Stuff I Wish I’d Bought in the 80’s – Topps Super Sports Lockers”

  1. loqtus May 14, 2012 at 6:20 AM #

    I have two of these and about ten of the blue ones by the Tara toy company. I keep a couple 80’s football sets in them and my bulk Redskins in the others. I’m actually looking for more of the blue ones for the current and later years…Email me and I can send you pics.

Leave a Reply

