Cool Stuff I Wish I’d Bought in the 80′s – Topps Sweatshirts

4 Jul

1988 Topps Company Store Card

Not only was 1988 Topps one of the best baseball sets ever, they also contained Topps Company Store cards with… prepare yourself… special offers.  The fact is, I probably not only wanted one of these sweatshirts as a kid, I would have worn it constantly.  My mother would have had to wrestle it off of me on laundry day.  I would have been the coolest kid in school.

Now, looking back, I’m torn.  I don’t know which shirt I would have requested when I sent my $19.95 plus $1.50 ($1.50!) shipping to Westbury, NY.

I’d say I’m leaning towards the “All-Star Card Collector” shirt at the bottom right (Style A), because, really, who doesn’t want to be acknowledged for their All-Star status in puffy-lettered sweatshirt printing?  That said, the word trickery shenanigans with Style C are pretty impressive.  That shirt not only has “TOPPS” printed on it five times, it also says TOPPS in diagonal, using letters from the other five words, except IN COLOUR!

If you’re paying attention, you will see that I spelled colour with a “u,” which is one of the key indicators of Canadianness, like an accent that makes me sound slow or the ability to comprehend Fahrenheit and Celsius at the same time.  I feel like I’m reliving the disappointment of my childhood, realizing that this offer is good in the USA only, while I am stuck in cold, Topps sweatshirt-less Canada.  Maybe O-Pee-Chee has something similar but bilingual that I can buy?

Leave a Reply

